Skip to content

Confederate

July 19, 2010
Confederate

Confederate Cemetery in Fredericksburg, Virginia

In Fredericksburg, VA there is a nice little cemetery which is the final resting place for a number of Confederate soldiers who were killed in the 4 Civil War battles in the area  (the battles of Fredericksburg, Chancellorsville, the Wilderness, and Spotsylvania Courthouse, if you were wondering!).  When I visited, I saw that some of the stones were in serious disrepair, which is always sad to see.  The orange flags are used to denote the broken stones so they can be fixed at some point in the future.  My visit was in the spring of 2009 so hopefully it’s been cleaned up a bit since then.

Anybutts.  You can see the rows of identical graves; that’s what most of them are like, but there are a few different markers as well.  There are some larger ones, more decorative, family stones, etc.  Most of the broken ones simply have flags.  This broken stone, however, had a little makeshift replacement.  I’m not sure what the circumstances were leading to this, but somebody has put up a little painted wooden cross in place of the broken marker.

Thanks to my bff Julia H. for the photo! I don’t remember why I didn’t take many; I guess my camera was dead or something.  But she went through her stuff and sent me the ones she took! 🙂

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

