Skip to content

Seeing double

July 29, 2010
Two wives

Laurel Hill Cemetery in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania

Mr. Sayres here was buried between his first and second wives.  Alright, that’s cool.  The thing that stands out to me is that the two women have the same maiden name.  I wonder if perhaps Linda and Mary were sisters, and when one of them died, the other got passed on to her widower.  It seems like a strange tradition to me, but it’s not that uncommon, looking back through history.  If my sister died… I would NOT want to marry her husband.  Maybe that’s just me…..

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Elizabeth permalink
    August 2, 2010 2:38 am

    I’d roll in my grave if you did! :p

Leave a Reply

